Doctoral programmes

The next joint application round for doctoral studies beginning in spring 2019 will be held 1 October - 31 October 2018. The application period ends at 15.00 (Finnish time).

Applying to a doctoral programme of the University of Tampere takes place twice a year through (in April and October) with two exceptions: the Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences, and the International Doctoral Programme in Epidemiology and Public Health have their own application schedules.

The Doctoral degree takes approximately 4 years and is worth 240 ECTS credits. Doctoral studies require independent research and a Doctoral dissertation. 

All doctoral students of the University are members of a doctoral programme and of the University Doctoral School.

Faculty of Communication Sciences (COMS)

Faculty of Education (EDU)

Faculty of Management (JKK)

Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences (MED)

Faculty of Natural Sciences (LUO)

Faculty of Social Sciences (SOC)