To page body
university of tampere: faculty of communication sciences: doctoral studies:
Faculty of Communication SciencesUniversity of Tampere The School of Communication, Media and Theatre

The doctoral programme of the School of Communication, Media and Theatre will be transferring to new Faculty of Communication Sciences.

The study-related instructions and curricula of the School of Communication, Media and Theatre will continue to be used in connection with this doctoral programme.

Studies Required for Doctoral Degrees

In theory, full-time postgraduate studies take four years. A postgraduate study programme (240 ECTS in total) consists of two parts: doctoral dissertation (180 ECTS) and other studies (60 ECTS).  Full-time studies for a licentiate degree take approximately two and a half years, and the student earns 150 ECTS, of which the licentiate thesis is worth 90 ECTS.

The studies required for the postgraduate degrees at the School of Communication, Media and Theatre consist of the following five parts:

1) CMTJ1 Research seminar (10 ECTS)
The research seminar consists of two seminars: the School's general doctoral seminar (2 ECTS) and the discipline-specific seminar (8 ECTS). The School's general doctoral seminar is made up of a welcome session for new postgraduate students plus actual seminar sessions. The seminar sessions are held once a semester. All postgraduate students must present their research in the general seminar at least twice during their postgraduate studies. The discipline-specific seminars are held as agreed, and they can be different from each another.

2) CMTJ2 Theoretical and methodological studies (10 ECTS)
The postgraduate student and his or her supervisor must agree on what the theoretical and methodological studies will consist of: they can be courses, exams, essays or reading groups. Credit can also be given for scientific publications not included in the dissertation or for studies in the philosophy of science. These studies may also include other elements as agreed between student and supervisor.

3) CMTJ3 Studies promoting internationalisation and networking (10 ECTS)
The postgraduate student and his or her supervisor must agree on how the student takes the studies promoting internationalisation and networking. Credit can be given for giving a presentation in an international conference, for example, or participating in the organisation of a conference, attending a summer school, taking postgraduate studies abroad or serving as part of the editorial staff of a scientific journal. Other elements may also be included as agreed with the supervisor.

4) CMTJ4 Studies promoting knowledge of the student's own discipline and research area (30 ECTS)
The postgraduate student and his or her supervisor must agree on what these studies should consist of. They may include advanced studies in another discipline or other studies, as long as the studies were not a part of the student's previous degree. For instance, credit can be awarded for studies in university pedagogy or scientific writing, for teaching or for holding a position of trust at the University or a position that develops work life skills (for example, project management, research duties requiring responsibility or other duties with similar requirements). These studies may also include other elements as agreed between student and supervisor.

5) CMTJ5 Doctoral dissertation (180 ECTS)
The doctoral dissertation is a substantial scientific thesis based on independent research. The dissertation must produce new scientific knowledge and demonstrate critical thinking, a profound knowledge of the field and its methods, and the ability to apply these methods.
Postgraduate studies in Theatre Work offer individualised academic studies in art. A final project is based on the student's artistic work, and it is either an independent work of art or a series of works of art that focus on a certain theme. In place of a work of art, the final project in Theatre Art can also be a doctoral dissertation.

Items 1–4 above can be pursued in many ways. Postgraduate students can choose among the courses and seminars organised by the University's Doctoral School or the School's doctoral programme. In addition, they can take courses in other doctoral programmes or at other Finnish or foreign universities.

Each postgraduate student and his or her main supervisor must draw up a written study and supervision plan setting out the contents of the student's postgraduate studies. The plan will be updated annually. Postgraduate studies should be diverse, and they should promote the research process and develop the student's research and working life skills. For this reason, postgraduate studies are always individually tailored. Postgraduate students who pursue a postgraduate degree in Art will follow this outline when applicable.

Postgraduate studies may be arranged in cooperation with a university outside Finland. In these cases, the University of Tampere and the other university will draw up a joint degree agreement (a so-called cotutelle de thése agreement). The University's rules, regulations and agreements must be followed even when pursuing a joint degree. For more information about drawing up a joint degree agreement, please contact the School's Chief Administrator (heikki.eilo at A joint degree agreement can be drawn up only after the student has been admitted to the School of Communication, Media and Theatre as a postgraduate student.

Further information:
Brief Guide for Doctoral Studies
General Regulations on Postgradute Studies

Maintained by:
Last update: 19.12.2016 13.17 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results