To page body
university of tampere: faculty of communication sciences:
Faculty of Communication SciencesUniversity of Tampere The School of Communication, Media and Theatre


The nine schools of the University of Tampere became six faculties from the start of 2017.  School of Communication, Media and Theatre (CMT) is located at the Faculty of Commucation Sciences at the University of Tampere in Finland. 


The University of Tampere School of Communication, Media and Theatre (CMT) is a multidisciplinary research community that combines perspectives deriving from the social sciences, the humanities and the arts. The purpose of the community is to analyse and drive social and cultural change and thus promote the realisation of global peace and democracy, education and well-being.

The school’s research activities are characterised by their constructive and critical relationship with society. In its capacity as a multidisciplinary school, CMT gives its research contribution to the different focus areas included in the university’s strategy. In the school’s research activities, special attention is given to communication in all its diversity, the role of media in the construction of society and performing as a way of producing socio-cultural reality.

Due to its multidisciplinary nature and the fact that the school brings together research areas from the social sciences, the humanities and the arts, it is able to effectively identify both existing and emergent forms of experiences and practices as well as develop multidisciplinary perspectives to study them.

According to the research strategy, as the starting point for the research programmes, pervasive themes that are related to social change and challenge traditional disciplines and approaches will be used. These include transnationalism, the changes of the contexts of communicative action, the media and theatre as well as the change of the terms and forms of agency. Transnationalism refers to the increased porosity of nation state borders, the reorganisation of economic, political and cultural borders and the overlapping of the presentational forms of producing reality. The changes of the contexts of communicative action, the media and theatre refers to the changes of the structural conditions of these activities. The change of the terms and forms of agency refers to the change in the structures, forms, contents and impacts of public activities.

Two Research Centres

CMT houses two research centres that conduct externally funded research and development activities.

COMET, the Tampere Research Centre for Journalism, Media and Communications (founded in 1997), is Finland’s largest research centre for journalism and communications. Its focus areas are research on journalism, media culture, media education, and speech communication and voice research. COMET also coordinates CMT’s further education.

The Centre for Practise as Research in Theatre (founded in 2008) studies and develops artistic production and technical practices related to the performing arts and theatres. It implements local, national and international collaboration projects together with research and education in theatre work and professional theatres.


Documentation for Research

NORDICOM, the Nordic Information Centre for Media and Communications Research, works in conjunction with CMT. NORDICOM gathers academic research information about communications and media and disseminates the data in different formats.

Further information on CMT’s research is available from Information Specialist Eija Poteri (, +358 [0]50 318 5939), and from the University of Tampere’s expert database SOLECris.

Maintained by:
Last update: 6.1.2017 5.47 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results