To page body
university of tampere: faculty of social sciences: research: research groups:
Faculty of Social SciencesUniversity of TampereFaculty of Social Sciences

International Doctoral Programme in Epidemiology

Programme website

Epidemiology

Epidemiologic research focuses on disease occurrence. Concepts and approaches utilised have been derived from demography, where they are used for research on population dynamics, while epidemiology deals with disease occurrence and public health questions.

Traditionally, epidemiologic studies have addressed disease aetiology, including a wide range of exposures from lifestyle and behaviour to genetic factors. Modern epidemiology covers also disease outcomes and decision making at various levels of health care e.g. validity of diagnostic tests and effectiveness of treatments.

At School of Health Sciences, epidemiological studies are conducted on cancers, infections and vaccinations, diabetes, allergic diseases, childhood obesity and overweight, and maternal health.

Professors

Name Title Contact information
Anssi Auvinen Professor of Epidemiology Tel. +358 40 190 1640
anssi.auvinen@uta.fi
Pekka Nuorti Professor of Epidemiology
Director, International Doctoral Programme in Epidemiology IPPE
Tel. +358 40 190 1685
pekka.nuorti@uta.fi

Part-time professors

Name Title Contact information
Nea Malila professor (cancer epidemiology) nea.malila@uta.fi
Eero Pukkala professor (epidemiology) eero.pukkala@uta.fi
Suvi Virtanen professor (epidemiology) suvi.m.virtanen@uta.fi

Research directors

Name Title Contact information
Matti Lehtinen Research director
HPV Vaccination research
Tel. +358 50 396 9648
matti.lehtinen@uta.fi
Riitta Luoto Research director (part-time)


» Teaching and research staff


Projects

Anssi Auvinen


Pekka Nuorti

Research group
Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Vaccine Programs in Public Health Practice

Projects


Suvi Virtanen

 
School of Health Sciences
FI-33014 University of Tampere
tel. +358 3 355 111 (switchboard)
Maintained by: hes.info@uta.fi
Last update: 24.2.2016 12.13 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111
registry@uta.fi


FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

THE UNIVERSITY
Research
Admissions
Studies
News
Cooperation and Services
About Us

CURRENT ISSUES
Research & Study
Tampere3
Vacancies

SERVICES
Administration
Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Library
Registrar's Office
Registry
Sports Activities
» more

STUDIES
Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

ONLINE SERVICES
Andor search
Andor - renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Moodle
NettiOpsu
NettiKatti
TamPub
Electronic exam service
Examination results