To page body
university of tampere: faculty of management: studies: degree programmes: degree programme in politics: studies in english:
Faculty of ManagementFaculty of Management
Degree Programme in Politics

Teachers in Charge of Course Units and Modules in the Degree Programme of Politics

If you have something to ask about the contents or study practices (for example, in the case when you want to complete a course unit or a module independently by writing an essay) of the course units and modules in the Degree Programme of Politics, please contact the teacher in charge of the respective course unit/module. For information about the book exam option, you can find the instructions and the list of the examiners here.

The staff email addresses are of the format <> unless otherwise stated. Replace umlaut or accented letters with non-diacritic characters (e.g. ä->a, ö->o).

Bachelor's level

Basic Studies

POLPOP01 Introduction to International Relations, 5 ECTS, Tuomas Forsberg
POLPOP02 Introduction to Political Science, 5 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLPOP03 Scientific Writing and Research Material in Political Studies (for degree students only), 5 ECTS: Tarja Seppä & Ilkka Ruostetsaari
POLPOP04 Political Ideologies, 5 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen
POLPOP05 Politics and Changing Contexts, 5 ECTS, Hannes Peltonen

Intermediate Studies

Specialising Studies in International Relations

POLKVA10 The Theory and Method of International Relations (10 ECTS): Eero Palmujoki
  - POLKVA11 The Theory and Method of International Relations (theory), 5 ECTS, Eero Palmujoki
  - POLKVA12 The Theory and Method of International Relations (methodology), 5 ECTS, Eero Palmujoki
POLKVA21 European Integration Theory and External Relations, 5 ECTS, Hanna Ojanen
POLKVA22 EU External Relations: Security, Economy and Values, 5 ECTS, Hanna Ojanen
POLKVA23 European, Eurasian and Global Energy Policy, 5 ECTS, Hanna Ojanen
POLKVA31 International Society, 5 ECTS, Milla Vaha
POLKVA32 Foreign Policy and Diplomacy, 5 ECTS, Milla Vaha
POLKVA33 International Political Economy, 5 ECTS, Milla Vaha
POLKVA41 New Forms of Violence, Change in Security Paradigm, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä
POLKVA42 Conflict Resolution, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä
POLKVA43 Peace, Security and International Institutions, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä
POLKVA44 Human Rights and International Society, 5 ECTS, Tarja Seppä

Specialising Studies in Political Science

POLVOA21 European Integration and the Political System of the European Union, 5 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLVOA22 Multi-level Governance and Europeanisation, 5 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLVOA31 Political Institutions and Processes, 5 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOA32 Comparative European Politics and the Finnish Political System, 5 ECTS, Elina Kestilä-Kekkonen
POLVOA41 Parties, Elections and Civil Society, 5 ECTS, Elina Kestilä-Kekkonen
POLVOA42 Political Communication and Rhetoric, 5 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOA51 Introduction to Political Theory, 5 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen
POLVOA52 Old and New Classics of Political Theory, 5 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen

POLKAA99 Bachelor's Thesis Seminar, 10 ECTS (for degree students only): University Lecturer Eero Palmujoki, University Lecturer Tarja Seppä, University Lecturer Elina Kestilä-Kekkonen, University Lecturer Mikko Lahtinen

Master's level

International Relations

POLKVS10 The Theory and Metatheory of International Relations, 10 ECTS, Hannes Peltonen
POLKVS21 Advanced International Relations Research Methods, 5 ECTS, Milla Vaha
POLKVS22 Specialised International Relations Research Methods, 5 ECTS, Milla Vaha
POLKVS31 The Study of World Politics, 10 ECTS, Hannes Peltonen
POLKVS32 Advanced European Integration Studies, 10 ECTS, Hanna Ojanen
POLKVS33 Peace and Conflict Research, 10 ECTS, Tuomas Forsberg
POLKVS40 Workshop in International Relations, 10 ECTS (for degree students only): Professor Tuomas Forsberg
POLKVS99 Master's Thesis and Seminar, 40 ECTS (for degree students only): Professor Pami Aalto, Professor Tuomas Forsberg, University Lecturer Hannes Peltonen

Political Science

POLVOS10 Contemporary Political Theory, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS21 Political Systems Outside of Europe, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS22 The European Union, 10 ECTS, Tapio Raunio
POLVOS23 Civil Society and Political Participation, 10 ECTS, Elina Kestilä-Kekkonen
POLVOS24 Political Philosophy, 10 ECTS, Mikko Lahtinen
POLVOS25 Political Communication and Rhetoric, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS26 Public Policy and Governance, 10 ECTS, Ilkka Ruostetsaari
POLVOS27 Political Systems, 10 ECTS, Kaisa Herne
POLVOS28 Parties and Elections, 10 ECTS, Elina Kestilä-Kekkonen
POLVOS40 Master's Thesis Seminar, 10 ECTS (for degree students only): Professor Kaisa Herne, Professor Elina Kestilä-Kekkonen, Professor Tapio Raunio

Study Modules offered as Optional Studies (Joint Thematic Modules)

POLYEP11 Finnish Energy Policy, 5 ECTS, Ilkka Ruostetsaari
POLYEP12 Civic Participation, 5 ECTS, Ilkka Ruostetsaari

For further options, please see also the curricula guide for Thematic Modules offered within the School of Management. NB! These course units and modules are offered by all three degree programmes of the School, and there may be some restrictions for completing them as exchange and visiting students. Always check directly with the teacher in charge and/or the degree programme in question.


School of Management
Kanslerinrinne 1, 4th floor (Pinni A Building)
Maintained by: minna.hoijer(at)
Last update: 28.8.2017 14.27 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results