To page body
university of tampere:
Promootio 2014University of TamperePromootio 2014

Joint doctoral conferment of the School of Communication, Media and Theatre, the School of Education and the School of Social Sciences and Humanities at the University of Tampere to be held on 5-7 June 2014

The doctoral conferment of three schools of the University of Tampere will include conferring nine honorary doctorates. tht title of honorary doctor of education will be conferred on Professor William E. Doll Jr. (Louisiana State University, USA), Professori Henning Salling Olesen (Roskilde University Denmark), and Associate Professor Manjula Waniganayake (Macquarie University, Australia). The title of honorary doctor of social sciences will be conferred on Professor Jutta Allmendinger (Humboldt-Universität Zu Berlin, Germany), Visting Professor, M.Soc.Sc Tarmo Lemola, Publishing Manager, B.Soc.Sc Teijo Makkonen, and Professor Ulla Carlsson (Göteborgs Universitet, Sweden). The title of honorary doctor of theatre art) will be conferred on author Pirkko Saisio. More information on the conferees in English: honorary doctors


The events and schedule of the conferment:

•Sword-Whetting Ceremony, main building of the University, Thu 5 June 2014 at 8 pm

•Conferment Ceremony, main auditorium of the University, Fri 6 June at 12 noon

•Conferment Service, Tampere Cathedral, Fri 6 June at 4 pm

•Conferment Banquet, Hotel Rosendahl, Fri 6 June 2014 at 7 pm

•Conferment Ceremony Ball, Tampere City Hall, Fri 6 June 2014 at 11

•Conferment Cruise to Viikinsaari, Sat 7 June 2014 at 12 noon


The traditional conferment protocol is applied in this conferment wiht slight modifications: certain theatrical elements have been brought alonside the traditional programme.

The conferment sees nine honorary doctorates and 90 docotorates conferred. The main promoter of th event is Professor Pertti Koistinen (YKY), while the other promoters are Professor Taisto Hujanen (CMT) and Professor Tuomas Takala (EDU). Professor Marjaana Niemi act as the Master of Ceremonies while Docent Mervi Kaarninen is the Senior Usher.

More information about the conferment can be asked from Chairperson, Professor Eero Ropo (050 5679838) and Secretary, Chief administrator Heikki Eilo (040 1901389).

>> Pictures of the promotion
>> Doctors
>> Doctor Honorisis Causae

Kalevantie 4, 33014 Tampereen yliopisto
puh. (03) 355 111
Maintained by:
Last update: 25.6.2014 13.02 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results