To page body
university of tampere: sis/luo-coms: bachelor and master studies:
Faculties of Natural and Communication SciencesUniversity of TampereFaculties of Natural and Communication Sciences

The nine schools of the University of Tampere will become six faculties from the start of 2017.

The degree programmes of the School of Information Sciences will be transferring to two new faculties:

Faculty of Communication Sciences

  • MDP (Master's Degree Programme) in Human-Technology Interaction
  • MDP in Internet and Game Studies
  • Degree programme in Information Studies and Interactive Media

Faculty of Natural Sciences

  • MDP in Computational Big Data Analytics
  • MDP in Software Development
  • Degree programme in Mathematics and Statistics
  • Degree programme in Computer Sciences (excluding MDP in Human-Technology Interaction)

The study-related instructions and curricula of the School of Information Sciences will continue to be used in connection with these degree programmes.


In the School of Information Sciences it is possible to take the following degrees:

  • Bachelor of Science degree, in Finnish luonnontieteiden kandidaatin tutkinto (first cycle degree) - available in Finnish only
  • Master of Science degree, in Finnish filosofian maisterin tutkinto (second cycle degree)
  • Licentiate of Philosophy degree, in Finnish filosofian lisensiaatin tutkinto (third cycle degree)
  • Doctor of Philosophy degree, filosofian tohtorin tutkinto (third cycle degree)

The School has offered in English the following Master's degree programmes:

  • Master's Degree Programme in Software Development (major Computer Science). From 1 August 2012 a new master programme under the same name started with Computer Science as specialization.
  • Master's Degree Programme in User Interface Software Development (major Interactive Technology) - no admissions from 2012
  • Master's Degree Programme in Interactive Technology (major Interactive Technology) - no admissions from 2012
  • Master's Degree Programme in Human-Technology Interaction (specialization Interactive Technology). New programme from 2012 that incorporated earlier Interactive Technology and User Interface Software Development master programmes.
  • Master's Degree Programme in Internet and Game Studies (specialization Information Studies and Interactive Media), started in English from September 2013
  • Master's degree programme in Computational Big Data Analytics starts in late August 2015.

University degrees in Finland

Finland has a dense network of institutions of higher education, both universities (yliopisto) and polytechnics (ammattikorkeakoulu) located around the country. Although Finnish universities are publicly financed through the Ministry of Education, they are autonomous institutions in their internal affairs.

In the Finnish educational system, renewed in August 2005, the 3-year Bachelor's degree is the first cycle degree and the 2-year Master's degree the second cycle degree. The Master's degree gives eligibility for the third cycle studies which are called postgraduate studies.

Postgraduate studies consist of two levels: the Licentiate's degree and the Doctor's degree. The Licentiate's degree is an intermediate but optional step towards a Doctor's degree. For academically oriented postgraduate students, the Doctor's degree is recommended directly after the Master's degree. In many fields, the Licentiate's degree is developing towards a more professional degree.

Doctoral programmes require independent research and an extensive doctoral dissertation. The doctoral dissertation must be published - either in printed or in electronic form - and defended in a public examination. Full-time studies for the doctoral degree take about four years.

Credit units in use

In Finnish universities credit units are used to measure study progress and the extent of studies. The system was renewed in 2005, and after a transition period only new credits are now given. One Finnish credit equals one ECTS (European Union Credit Transfer System) credit. Sixty ECTS credits refer to an average input of approximately 1600 hours of work per year by the student. Student work input may include lectures, exercises, seminars, independent study and research work plus other assignments.

The minimum requirement for the Bachelor's degree is 180 ECTS credits. For the Master's degree, the minimum is 120 ECTS credits.

Concerning the postgraduate degrees, the Licentiate's degree entails taking 130 ECTS credits, of which the Licentiate's thesis accounts for 90 ECTS credits. The Doctor's degree requires 240 ECTS credits, of which the doctoral dissertation accounts for 200 ECTS credits.

Academic year at UTA

The academic year is divided into two semesters. The autumn semester runs from the beginning of September to mid-December and the spring semester from early January to mid-May. At UTA, each semester is divided into two periods and thus the academic year has four periods.

Maintained by: (at)
Last update: 14.12.2016 15.13 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results