To page body
university of tampere: tampere center for child health research: research: pediatric respiratory medicine:
Tampere Center for Child Health ResearchUniversity of TampereTampere Center for Child Health Research
Tampere Center for Child Health Research

Bronchiolitis

Globally, there are only four studies on long-term outcome of bronchiolitis until adulthood, and two of them have been done in Sweden and two in Finland. The main result in all studies has been very similar, the children seem to outgrow from their wheezing tendency at school age, but after puberty, wheezing and asthma symptoms will remit. The most important risk factors have been asthma in parents, food allergy in infants, exposure to tobacco smoke in pregnancy or infancy, and rhinovirus infection in early life.

The bronchiolitis cohort from Tampere has been followed-up since 2001, and follow-up data at 6-7 years of age are available, and a clinical study will be arranged in 2014-2015 to get follow-up data at 12-13 years of age. The focus of the coming follow-study is in the presence and risk factors of asthma and lung function disorders at late school age after early-life bronchiolitis. Our special interest is focused on the genetics of innate immunity, particularly on the genetics of interleukin-10 and toll-like-receptors. In addition, we are charting hospital treatment modalities and costs, and risks of intensive care in young children with wheezing.

Group leader

Professor Matti Korppi, email: matti.korppi(at)uta.fi

Group members

  • Docent Merja Helminen, email: merja.helminen(at)pshp.fi
  • MD, PhD Kirsi Nuolivirta, email: kirsi.nuolivirta(at)fimnet.fi
  • MD, PhD Marita Paassilta, email: marita.paassilta(at)pshp.fi
  • MD Petri Koponen, email: petri.koponen(at)uta.fi
  • MD Eero Lauhkonen, email: eero.lauhkonen(at)uta.fi
  • MD Sari Törmänen, email: sari.tormanen(at)uta.fi
  • MD Minna Mecklin, email: minna.mecklin(at)uta.fi

Collaborators

  • MD, PhD Qiushui He, email: qiushui.he(at)thl.fi
  • MD, PhD Jyri Toikka, email: jyri.toikka(at)utu.fi
 
Kalevantie 4, 33014 Tampereen yliopisto
puh. (03) 355 111
Maintained by: webmaster@uta.fi
Last update: 6.5.2013 14.32 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111
registry@uta.fi


FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

THE UNIVERSITY
Research
Admissions
Studies
News
Cooperation and Services
About Us

CURRENT ISSUES
Research & Study
Tampere3
Vacancies

SERVICES
Administration
Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Library
Registrar's Office
Registry
Sports Activities
» more

STUDIES
Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

ONLINE SERVICES
Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Moodle
NettiOpsu
NettiKatti
TamPub
Electronic exam service
Examination results