To page body
university of tampere: faculty of social sciences: doctoral studies:
Faculty of Social SciencesUniversity of TampereFaculty of Social Sciences

Doctoral Programmes

Curricula from August 1st 2015  to July 31st 2018

Doctoral programmes | The credit systemThe structure of the studies | Regulations coming into effect

Doctoral Programmes

Licentiate’s and Doctor’s degrees are pursued in some of the four doctoral programmes offered by the Faculty of Social Sciences (former School of Social Sciences and Humanities).

These four doctoral programmes are:

1)      The doctoral programme in Philosophy
2)      The doctoral programme in History
3)      The doctoral programme in Psychology and Logopaedics
4)      The doctoral programme in Social Sciences

The doctoral programme in Social Sciences includes the disciplines of Gender Studies, Sociology, Social Psychology, Social Anthropology, Social Policy, Social Work, Youth Research and the research field of Peace and Conflict Research.

The Postgraduate Committee acts as a board for the doctoral programmes.

The doctoral programmes require independent research and the writing of an extensive thesis. The doctoral thesis must be published and defended in a public debate. In addition to the thesis, the programmes also include other studies (60 ECTS) which are stated below.

The target duration for full-time studies is two to three (2–3) years for a Licentiate’s degree, and four years for a Doctor's degree.


Please note! Information on the courses offered for the doctoral degree can be obtained from the teaching schedules of the University and sometimes via email list yky-jatko (at) Please see the links on the right. The degree requirements are stated below.

The credit system

As of 1 August 2005, studies have been quantified in terms of ECTS credits (in Finnish opintopiste) in pursuit of a harmonised system for the quantification of studies throughout the European higher education institutions. The credits used at the University are ECTS compatible. Studies required for a Bachelor’s degree amount to 180 ECTS, and the extent of studies leading to a Master’s degree is 120 ECTS (except for the Master of Science in Psychology degree, which is 150 ECTS). The Licentiate’s degree is estimated to comprise 150 ECTS credits, of which the Licentiate’s thesis covers 90 ECTS. The Doctor’s degree is 240 ECTS, of which the dissertation comprises 180 ECTS.


The structure of the studies

The doctoral studies follow the same structure in all the four doctoral programmes mentioned above. The studies (240 ECTS) consist of three modules:

1. Joint doctoral studies

2. Broad and profound knowledge of the student’s own discipline and field of research

3. Dissertation

The joint doctoral studies (module 1.) consist of the courses offered by the University of Tampere Doctoral School. In all the doctoral programmes, two courses are required: 'Research Ethics' and 'Philosophy of Science' (the latter course is not required in the doctoral programme in Philosophy). All the postgraduate students of the four doctoral programmes mentioned above give a presentation of their dissertation once during their studies for a multidisciplinary group of students and researchers in the joint doctoral seminar of the School (called 'YKY-Seminar'). The presentation is held halfway through the studies. The style and the time of the presentation are agreed with the supervisor.  The YKY-Seminar is compulsory for each student and no credits are granted for it.

Please note!  The Faculty does not arrange the YKY-Seminar in the spring term 2017. The professor in charge of the doctoral programme or the supervisor can decide on the alternative way to compensate the YKY-seminar. The  compensation mark to the academic record can be made for example when the student has presented  a paper in a multidisciplinary conference / seminar.

The purpose of the advanced studies (module 2.) is to deepen the students' knowledge of their own discipline and to provide them with a profound mastery of their own  discipline for their future careers as researchers. The structure of these studies includes the postgraduate seminars of the doctoral programmes (Philosophy, History, Social Sciences, Psychology/Logopaedics) and small group guidance in the disciplines (please see the teaching schedules and the curriculum of the doctoral programme you are applying for) or in research groups. In addition to that, the other studies in the student's own discipline are agreed on with the supervisor, according to the requirements of the doctoral programme in question.

The dissertation (module 3.) is written independently but under the guidance of the supervisors.

If  the student already has a Licentiate’s degree in the same or in a related discipline, only the dissertation is required.

For more information please see

Regulations Coming into Effect

These regulations are valid from August 1st, 2015 to July 31, 2018.

The student has a right to pursue the studies (60 ECTS) required for Licentiate’s and Doctor's degree according to his/her personal study plan during the academic year 2012-2013 if student’s personal study plan has been accepted before 1 August 2012. An overall grade of these studies should be updated into the study register before 31 July 2013.

From the beginning of the academic year 2013-2014 these regulations will be applied to all the students who have not completed their studies (60 ECTS) yet. All the studies already pursued will be taken into account but otherwise the structure of the studies may change.  In this case, the personal study plan should be updated so that it includes a detailed agreement on how the new regulations will be applied to the studies.


Maintained by:
Last update: 5.4.2017 8.52 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results