To page body
university of tampere: faculty of social sciences: doctoral studies: doctoral programmes, curricula:
Faculty of Social SciencesUniversity of TampereFaculty of Social Sciences

The Doctoral Programme in Social Sciences

 The aim of the degree   |  The structure of the studies  |   Supervision Practices and Agreement on Supervision

Professor in charge: Johanna Ruusuvuori; 1 August 2016 - 31 July 2017 Liisa Häikiö


The Aim of the Degree

The Doctoral Programme in Social Sciences includes the following disciplines:

  • Social Anthropology
  • Social Policy
  • Social Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Gender Studies
  • Youth Research and
  • The research field of Peace and Conflict Research.

The aim of the doctoral programme is to offer education in research that provides diversified skills for working in demanding specialist and research duties. Postgraduate studies enhance general theoretical and methodological skills, train students to work in multidisciplinary research groups and develop their ethical and practical working life skills. A graduate of the doctoral programme

  • knows the theories and the methods of his or her own discipline exceedingly well
  • has a broad knowledge of social research and its issues, and
  • can evaluate the significance of the various research approaches and methods.

Number of students: There are currently around 105 active doctoral students in the doctoral programme in Social Sciences. Approximately 18 to 20 new students are accepted into the programme every year.

Resources. There are 16 professors, 3 associate professors and 25 university lecturers or other instructors or researchers in the programme. The other docents of the discipline and senior researchers may also supervise dissertations.

The Structure of the Studies

The studies of the Doctoral Programme in Social Sciences (240 ECTS) consist of three modules:

  1. Joint doctoral studies 20–30 ECTS
  2. Broad and profound knowledge of the student’s own discipline and research subject 30–40 ECTS
  3. Dissertation 180 ECTS

Studies are designed by the following types of educational activities:

a) Participating in the teaching of the student’s own discipline (5 ECTS)
b) Participating in other national or international postgraduate programmes (one or two postgraduate courses equal 5 ECTS)
c) Scientific publishing (one refereed scientific publication not included in the dissertation equals 5 ECTS)
d) Presentations at scientific conferences (two scientific presentations equal 5 ECTS)
e) Participating in the doctoral seminar organised by the postgraduate programme (5 ECTS/academic year)

1. Joint doctoral studies (20-30 ECTS)

Joint doctoral studies deepen students’ general theoretical and methodological skills and prepare them to work in multidisciplinary groups. The studies consist of a postgraduate seminar and the studies and other coursework defined by the disciplines. Doctoral students actively participate in the postgraduate seminar and/or a doctoral small-group seminar organised by the School and present their dissertations twice a year in these seminars. Other studies may consist of the studies offered by the University’s Doctoral School, the studies of the doctoral programmes of the other Schools or organised by national or international doctoral programmes. A student’s personal study plan may include studies at other universities or on other doctoral programmes. The courses ‘Research Ethics’ and ‘Philosophy of Science’  and the multidisciplinary YKY-seminar are compulsory.

Please note!  The Faculty does not arrange the YKY-Seminar in the spring term 2017. The professor in charge of the doctoral programme or the supervisor can decide on the alternative way to compensate the YKY-seminar. The  compensation mark to the academic record can be made for example when the student has presented  a paper in a multidisciplinary conference / seminar.

2. Broad and profound knowledge of the student’s own discipline and of the research subject 3040 ECTS

These studies enhance a student’s knowledge of his or her own discipline beyond the theme of his or her dissertation and deepen his or her knowledge of the special issues of the discipline. The module consists of doctoral studies and courses offered in the student’s own discipline, in the other disciplines of the School, by the national and the international doctoral programmes and conferences, and other studies agreed upon with the supervisor.

Published texts not included in a student’s dissertation and presentations given at scientific conferences can be accepted as part of the curriculum. The student can also improve the mastery of his or her own discipline by offering instruction in it.

3. Dissertation (180 ECTS)

The dissertation is an independent work of scientific research written on a topic accepted by the School and the supervisors. The standard extent of a dissertation is 180 ECTS, which requires working full-time for about three years. The Board of the School accepts the dissertation after a successful public defence.

Supervision Practices and Supervision Agreement

Each doctoral student has one to three supervisors, at least one of whom is a professor. The other supervisors can be docents or people with corresponding qualifications.

After having been granted the right to study, the student draws up a personal study plan and makes an agreement with his or her supervisors on the general principles of supervision as well as on the duties and the rights of the student and the supervisors. 

Maintained by:
Last update: 27.3.2017 14.11 Muokkaa

University of Tampere
+358 3 355 111

FINEEC Audited HR Excellence in Research

Cooperation and Services
About Us

Research & Study

Career Services
Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Centre for International Education
IT services
Language Centre
Language Services
Registrar's Office
Sports Activities
» more

Teaching schedules
Curricula guides
Student's Desktop

Andor search
Renew your loans
UTA intranet
Office 365 webmail
Uta webmail
Electronic exam service
Examination results