Sisältöön
tampereen yliopisto: yhteiskuntatieteiden tiedekunta: tutkimus: rauhan- ja konfliktintutkimuskeskus tapri:
Yhteiskuntatieteiden tiedekuntaTampereen yliopistoYhteiskuntatieteiden tiedekunta
Rauhan- ja konfliktintutkimuskeskus TAPRI

EuPRA conference in Tampere, 20-22 July 2011

The 7th European Peace Research Association (EuPRA) General Conference, with the overall theme ”Europe and the World”, will take place in Tampere, 20-22 July 2011. The Finnish host organization is the Finnish Peace Research Association, in cooperation with the Tampere Peace Research Institute, TAPRI, University of Tampere.

On Wednesday, July 20, p.m. there will be the opening session, the first plenum and the get-together-party. The following two days will start with plenum sessions at 9 am, and the rest of the days are devoted to parallel work sessions. The three plenary sessions shall be opened by the statements of invited keynote speakers. The keynote speakers who thus far have confirmed their participation are Professor Abdelouahab Rezig (Université d'Alger 3), Emeritus Professor Luc Reychler (University of Leuven) and Dr. Vicki Squire (The Open University)..

 

Working groups: The papers to be presented in the working groups can relate to the main theme of the conference, but also to other central issues of peace research. The following working groups have been announced thus far:

  • Roundtable on peace mediation
    Convener: Dr. Mika Aaltola, Finnish Institute of International Affairs,
    e-mail: Mika.Aaltola@fiia.fi

  • Armaments, disarmament and conversion
    Conveners: Dr. Christian Wellmann, Kiel University
    e-mail: Wellmann@frieden.uni-kiel.de
         and
    Ms. Tytti Erästö, TAPRI
    e-mail: Tytti.Erasto@uta.fi

  • EU-Russia relations and contested issues in the wider Europe
    Convener: Dr. Helena Rytövuori-Apunen, TAPRI research project Security and Development Research within the Wider Europe Initiative Security Cluster
    e-mail: Helena.Rytovuori-Apunen@uta.fi

  • Euro-Mediterranean region
    Convener: Professor Tuomo Melasuo, TAPRI
    e-mail: Tuomo.Melasuo@uta.fi 

  • The Balkans – from conflict to cooperation
    Conveners: Dr. Tanja Tamminen, Finnish Institute of International Affairs
    e-mail: Tanja.Tamminen@fiia.fi
         and
    Dr. Jelena Obradovic-Wochnik, Aston University, UK
    e-mail: j.obradovic-wochnik@aston.ac.uk

  • Gender and peace operations
    Conveners: Ms. Jemima Repo, University of Helsinki
    e-mail: Jemima.Repo@helsinki.fi
          and
    Ms. Saara Särmä, University of Tampere
    e-mail: Saara.Sarma@uta.fi

  • Environmental conflicts in Latin America
    Conveners: Dr. Jussi Pakkasvirta, University of Helsinki
    e-mail: Jussi.Pakkasvirta@helsinki.fi
         and
    Dr. Markus Kröger, University of Helsinki
    e-mail: Markus.Kroger@helsinki.fi

  • Turkey, Europe and the Middle East
    Convener: Dr. Nesrin Kenar, University of Sakarya
    e-mail: Nesrin.Kenar@gmail.com

  • Migration, identity and agency
    Conveners: Ms. Anitta Kynsilehto, University of Tampere
    e-mail: Anitta.Kynsilehto@uta.fi
        
    and
    Ms. Tiina Vaittinen, University of Tampere
    e-mail: Tiina.Vaittinen@uta.fi

  • Visual peace research
    Convener: Dr. Frank Möller, TAPRI
    e-mail: Frank.Moller@uta.fi

  • Critical security studies
    Conveners: Mr. Matti Jutila, Aleksanteri Institute, University of Helsinki
    e-mail: Matti.Jutila@helsinki.fi
        
    and
    Dr. Juha Vuori, University of Turku
    e-mail: juhvuo@utu.fi

  • Human rights, human security and the responsibility to protect
    Conveners: Ms. Tarja Seppä, University of Tampere
    e-mail: Tarja.Seppa@uta.fi
        
    and
    Dr. Touko Piiparinen, University of Helsinki
    e-mail: Touko.Piiparinen@helsinki.fi

  • Peace research and peace movements
    Convener: Mr. Unto Vesa, TAPRI
    e-mail: Unto.Vesa@uta.fi

 

More WGs are still possible, and on the other hand, it is possible that on the eve of the conference some groups may be merged. Anyway, our goal is that all participants shall have the opportunity to present their papers and have them discussed in working groups.

 

 

Call for papers: You should send the abstract of your paper proposal to the conveners of the WG, in which you wish to present your paper, but at the same time also to the secretary of the Finnish Peace Research Association, Dr. Samu Pehkonen (samu.pehkonen@uta.fi) and Unto Vesa (unto.vesa@uta.fi).

 

NB: The new deadline for submitting paper proposals is June 15, 2011.

 

The venue of the conference is the Tampere Congress Hall. The conference fee covers the right to participate, all conference services, lunches, coffees and a buffet reception. The participation fee is 130 euros for professionals and 100 euros for students, when paid before June 1, 2011 (the new deadline for the early bird price). After that, until the conference the fee is 180 euros for professionals and 130 euros for students. The participation fee has to paid on the bank account of the Finnish Peace Research Association: Tampereen Seudun Osuuspankki, IBAN FI09 5730 0820 3841 84. The SWIFT (BIC) code is OKOYFIHH.


Everyone has to arrange her or his accommodation directly with the hotels. The organizers have, however, reserved rooms at special conference prices for the participants in three hotels and a hostel in the neighbourhood of the Tampere Hall. These hotels and their prices are:

 

Holiday Inn Tampere: single room 85 euros/night; double room 97 euros/night. Breakfast and sauna included. Booking at these prices (code: EUPRA) to be made by July 1, 2011. E-mail: tampere.holidayinn@restel.fi

 

 

Hotel Victoria: single room 89 euros/night; double room 99 euros/night. Breakfast, sauna, and free parking included. Booking at these prices (code: EUPRA 2011) to be made by June 7, 2011. E-mail: sales@hotellivictoria.fi

 

 

Scandic Tampere City: single room 89 euros/night; double room 98 euros/night. Breakfast and sauna included. Booking at these prices (code: EUPRA or EUP190711) to be made by June 27, 2011. E-mail: tamperecity@scandichotels.com

 

 

Dream Hostel: double room 65 euros/night; four-person room 99 euros/night. Booking at these prices to be made by May 19, 2011. E-mail: info@dreamhostel.fi and booking@dreamhostel.fi.

 

 

Connections to Tampere are excellent. There are plenty of very advantageous flights from all over Europe directly to Tampere, e.g. by Ryanair, Air Baltic, Finnair, and SAS, and the earlier you book your flights the better are your chances of getting good prices.

 

 

The full programme and time schedule of the conference, the exact themes of all working groups as well as their conveners, and other practical arrangements will be added on this web-page later on.


Unfortunately, most obviously no travel grants will be available for any conference participants. If the situation changes, we shall provide that information asap.


This web-page will be updated continuously until the beginning of the conference.

 

 

 
Käyntiosoite: Linna, 6. kerros
Postiosoite: TAPRI, Yhteiskunta- ja kulttuuritieteiden yksikkö
33014 Tampereen yliopisto
Puh: (03) 355 111
Ylläpito: soc.info@uta.fi
Muutettu: 19.5.2011 16.23 Muokkaa

Tampereen yliopisto

Tampereen yliopisto
03 355 111
kirjaamo@uta.fi


KARVI-auditoitu HR Excellence in Research

YLIOPISTO
Tutkimus
Opiskelijaksi
Opiskelu
Ajankohtaista
Yhteistyö ja palvelut
Yliopisto

AJANKOHTAISTA
Aikalainen
Avoimet työpaikat
Rehtoriblogi
Tampere3

PALVELUT
Aktuaarinkanslia
Avoin yliopisto
Hallinto
Kansainvälisen koulutuksen keskus
Kielikeskus
Kielipalvelut
Kirjaamo
Kirjasto
Liikuntapalvelut
Viestintä
Tietohallinto
Tutkimuspalvelut
Täydennyskoulutus
Tietoarkisto
» lisää palveluita

OPISKELU
Opetusohjelma
Opinto-oppaat
Opiskelijan työpöytä

SÄHKÖISET PALVELUT
Andor-hakupalvelu
Andor - uusi lainasi
Intra
Moodle (learning2)
NettiOpsu / NettiRekka
NettiKatti
Sähköinen tenttipalvelu
TamPub
Office 365 webmail
Utaposti webmail
Wentti